Made Worthy of His Promises

jessie_canvas
As a child
The words of the holy rollers
went in one ear
and right out the other

As a child
the words spoken
to ease my fears
went right under the covers
for endless years

I was blinded
for so very long
not filled with the spirit
mortality, my song

And just when I thought
“What is life for anyway?”
Just when I thought
I would play it my own way

She introduced me to Him
and I will never be the same
He came in my despair
knowing this heart
that did not care

His gift was waiting
for just the right moment
when I needed it so bad
I could feel all of it

An empty well
now filled to the top
blood and water
in every drop

Like the spring’s first flower
amazing to every other
like a hurricane in a drought
or a camel with a feather

Amazing grace
now filled to the brim
no longer will my heart
be ever so grim

He waited and waited
until just the right moment
but gave me time to atone
before my life was spent

Let’s pray together
He does the same for you
I know he’s coming
to see you through
because one of the gifts
that he gave me was faith
in Him I place all hope
with amazing grace

I know you’ll not be forsaken
for it is my wish
that everyone amongst us
will feel like this
Psalm 23-
how dear to me
now that I can feel
and now that I see

A Psalm of David. Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd,
I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside quiet waters.

He restores my soul;
He guides me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You have anointed my head with oil;
My cup overflows.

Surely goodness and loving kindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Leave a Reply

